Michael Darmody Award

The PEAI launched, in 2011, an award in recognition of an outstanding contribution to physical education in Ireland. It is presented annually at the PEAI Conference every October.

The award is named in memory of Michael Darmody. Michael Darmody was a PE Teacher and worked as a physical education inspector with the Department of Education for many years. His tenure of office was marked by great strides in the development of curricula and of the physical and human infra-structure of physical education in Ireland. In his role as inspector he acted as friend, guide, mentor and instigator. He imagined a new future for physical education in Ireland and worked strategically and tirelessly towards its attainment, much of which we see today with recent introduction of Senior Cycle Physical Education (SCPE) and Leaving Certificate Physical Education (LCPE). He propounded the “art of the possible”. His life as a physical educator is an inspiration to us all.

Fear uasal, maorga, dílis. Go mara a scéal

Michael Darmody Award – Roll of Honour

2011 – Ger Murphy
2012 – Con Moynihan
2013 – Ann Moran
2014 – Paddy Reilly
2015 – Dr. Mary O’Flaherty
2016 – Dr PJ Smyth
2017 – Pat Critchley
2018 – Dr. Deborah Tannehill
2019 – Donal Dowd
2020 – Fiona Clancy
2021 – Tony Weir
2022 – Brian O’Reilly
2023 – Dr. Mary O’Sullivan